Study in Australia

Australian education system

Blog Summary Explore the Australian education system effortlessly! This system ensures a well-rounded learning journey with seamless connections from primary to tertiary levels. Compulsory schooling spans ages 6 to 16, divided into primary (Kindergarten to Year 6/7), secondary (Year 7-10/8-10), and senior secondary (Years 11-12) stages. Tertiary education includes higher education and vocational training. The Australian Qualifications Framework unifies education levels, aiding smooth transitions and career flexibility. The language of instruction is English, though bilingual options are available. Recognized globally, this system guarantees quality education, fostering your academic and professional growth within a globally connected network.

The Australian education system offers primary, secondary and tertiary education linked across the country and across the world.

School education (Primary and Secondary)

School education is similar across all of Australia with only minor variations between states and territories. School education (primary and secondary) is compulsory between the ages of six and sixteen (Year 1 to Year 9 or 10). School education is 13 years and divided into:

Primary school - Runs for seven or eight years, starting at Kindergarten/Preparatory through to Year 6 or 7.

Secondary school - Runs for three or four years, from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.

Senior secondary school - Runs for two years, Years 11 and 12.

Tertiary education

Tertiary education includes both higher education (including universities) and vocational education and training (VET).

Language of instruction

English is the official language of Australia and the main language of instruction in the education system. Many schools offer bilingual programs or programs in other languages.

Australian Qualifications Framework

The Australian education system is distinguished from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). The AQF was established in 1995 and is a national policy that covers qualifications from the tertiary education sector (higher education and vocational education and training) in addition to the school-leaving certificate; the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education.

The AQF has 10 levels and links school, vocational and university education qualifications into one national system. This allows you to move easily from one level of study to the next, and from one institution to another, as long as you satisfy student visa requirements. It allows for choice and flexibility in career planning. All qualifications in the AQF help prepare you for both further study and your working life.

If you are studying an AQF qualification, you can be sure that your institution is Government-authorised and nationally accredited, and that your degree or other AQF qualification will be genuine.

Our institutions are linked across the country and across the world, which makes it easy to move throughout the education system between courses or institutions and formal agreement and recognition frameworks mean every step of the path will contribute to your future no matter what your study or career goals.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the different levels of the Australian education system?
The Australian education system consists of three main levels: primary, secondary, and tertiary education, which includes universities and vocational education and training institutions.